Website Design Learnings From Painting

I recently went to Tate Britain and saw this painting by Patrick Heron (1920-1999) called Azalea Garden. I also develop a bit of front end for my start up and time over time I get stuck with choosing the right color pallete. Sometimes, I think black over white is good, sometimes I feel red color font will be better to catch attention, sometimes I think changing the font will be good... I like the experimentation but all my finished product lacks that polish factor. 

After standing in front of this painting for about 5 mins, it made perfect sense to me that red and orange side by side with white background look pleasant to eyes. Each and every color in this painting is right in it's place.  

Lession learned: Instead of taking a course in design, go visit art gallieries and choosing the right color pallete will come naturally.